Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Laboratory of Atmospheric Sciences (LAS)



  • Existence: 1963- ?

Staff Notes (March 13, 1970).  "Will Kellogg, director of the NCAR Laboratory of has just announced the formation of a third department in LAS: The new Physics Department, headed by Doyne Sartor, will include Doyne's cloud physics program; the atmospheric physics program, formerly headed by Guy Goyer and now under the direction of Burt Schuster; Charlie Knight's ice physics program; and Bob Bushnell's dropsonde program. The other two LAS departments are the Atmospheric Chemistry and Microphysics Department and the Atmospheric Dynamics Department." Staff Notes (March 3, 1972). "NCAR's Laboratory of Atmospheric Science (LAS) has established a new Atmospheric Radiation Program in the Chemistry Department with John Gille appointed as the Program Scientist in charge. Other members of this program are: John DeLuisi, Paul Furukawa, Peter Crooimans, Nancy Martin and Claire Sheldon."
Staff Notes